New Rent Pressure Zones & Legislative Changes Brought in 2nd July 2019

July 2019

The following list of 19 Local Electoral Areas have been designated Rent Pressure Zones: –

The full list of the 19 new LEAs across 11 counties are;

  • Meath: Kells, Trim
  • Louth: Ardee, Dundalk South, Dundalk – Carlingford
  • Wicklow: Arklow
  • Galway: Athenry/Ornamore, Gort/Kinvara
  • Wexford: Gorey
  • Cork; Midleton, Fermoy
  • Laois: Portlaoise, Graiguecullen/Portarlington
  • Waterford: Waterford City East, Waterford City South
  • Westmeath: Athlone
  • Limerick: Limerick City West, Limerick City North
  • Kilkenny: Kilkenny


Properties that have not had a tenancy for a period of two years prior to the immediate tenancy date are exempt from the RPZ Rules.

Investigations and Sanction Powers in effect from 2nd July 2019

New legislation has provided the RTB with the power to directly investigate and sanction, where appropriate, specific breaches of Residential Tenancy Law. There are three areas where the RTB will be able to use these powers:

  • Breaches in relation to Rent Pressure Zones
  • False and misleading notices of termination or where properties have not been offered back to the tenant in accordance with the law
  • New investigative powers for non-registration of a tenancy

Please contact us should you have any questions about your rental property  – 01-8276000

* take note of the date of publication of this piece.Information on this website may change with the passing of time and the law is constantly changing. Whilst we take steps to ensure the accuracy of the information, we cannot guarantee this. Clarification should always be sought.  
Categories: News and Rent Pressure Zone.